Select Page

SECTION 504

 

Section 504 is an Act that prohibits discrimination against persons with a disability.  The regulations implementing the Act define a person with a 504 disability as anyone who:

  1. Has a mental or physical impairment which substantially limits one or more life activities (education is a major life activity);
  2. Has a record of such impairment; or
  3. Is regarding as having such an impairment.

In order to fulfill its obligation under Section 504, the Amador County Unified School District and the Amador County Office of Education recognize a responsibility to avoid discrimination in policies and practices regarding its personnel and students. No discrimination against any person with a disability will knowingly be permitted in any of the programs and practices in the school system.

The Amador County Unified School District and the Amador County Office of Education have the responsibility to provide a free and appropriate education to all students.  Under the Act, this includes the responsibility to identify, evaluate, and if the student is determined to be eligible under Section 504, to provide services and reasonable accommodation(s) to assure a free and appropriate education.

Information Regarding Section 504: Procedural Safeguards

Section 504 is an Act that prohibits discrimination against persons with a disability.  The regulations implementing the Act define a person with a 504 disability as anyone who:

  1. Has a mental or physical impairment which substantially limits one or more life activities (education is a major life activity);
  2. Has a record of such impairment; or
  3. Is regarding as having such an impairment.

In order to fulfill its obligation under Section 504, the Amador County Unified School District and the Amador County Office of Education recognizes a responsibility to avoid discrimination in policies and practices regarding its personnel and students. No discrimination against any person with a disability will knowingly be permitted in any of the programs and practices in the school system.

The school district and county office of education have the responsibility to provide a free and appropriate education to all students.  Under the Act, this includes the responsibility to identify, evaluate, and if the student is determined to be eligible under Section 504, to provide services and reasonable accommodation(s) to assure a free and appropriate education.

 

Parent/Student Rights

  1. The right to be informed of all rights under Section 504. (This notice will serve to advise all interested parties concerning these rights).
  2. The right to an appropriate education designed to meet the student’s educational needs as adequately as the needs of non-disabled students are met.
  3. The right to placement in the least restrictive environment.
  4. The right to an evaluation prior to an initial Section 504 placement and subsequent significant change in placement.
  5. The right to be notified in writing of all the District decisions concerning identification, evaluation, or educational placement.
  6. The right for the parent/guardian or a qualified disabled student to review relevant records at the school site or at the District Office.
  7. The right to appeal decision(s) made by the District relating to the identification, evaluation, or education placement/services recommended for the student.

 

Section 504 Coordinators

Location Coordinator Phone Email
Amador County USD & COE Sean Snider (209)-257-5353 ssnider@acusd.org
Amador High School Nicole Gravette (209)-257-7300 ngravette@acusd.org
Argonaut High School Carrie Foster (209)-257-7700 cfoster@acusd.org
Educational Options Lori Martinez (209)-257-5100 lmartinez@acusd.org
Ione Junior High School Deborah Cardin (209)-257-5500 deborah.cardin@acusd.org 
Jackson Junior High School Heather Minton (209)-257-5700 hminton@acusd.org
Ione Elementary School Jeni DeWalt (209)-257-7000 jdewalt@acusd.org
Jackson Elementary School Barbara Magpusao (209)-257-5600 bmagpusao@acusd.org
Pine Grove Elementary School John Hawley (209)-296-2800 jhawley@acusd.org
Pioneer Elementary School Carmen Glaister (209)-295-6500 carmen.glaister@acusd.org
Plymouth Elementary School Joseph Horacek (209)-257-7800 joseph.horacek@acusd.org
Sutter Creek Elementary/Primary School Tia Peters (209)-257-7200 tpeters@acusd.org